Looking for requests: what would you like to learn about Fusion?

The subject says it all really. In the past I’ve done a couple of Fusion specific tutorials for ActionVFX and on my own YouTube channel and I like helping people out.

I’ve been using Fusion for over 20 years now, so there’s probably a lot of info that I take for granted or that is now part of my muscle memory that could be really useful for people who are new to Resolve and/or Fusion.

So here’s my question: what would you like to learn about Fusion? What parts of it still mystify you?

If it’s something worth sharing with a lot of people, it might end up in a new tutorial in the future.

Sander de Regt
ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands

1 Like

ShadowMaker, timely post!

I’m switching over from Mac/FCPX to PC/Resolve/Fusion. I have things in ProRes and Prores is the format that AVFX uses, so I’m trying to noodle out a workflow, esp for Fusion VFX. I’m not seeing encoding options on PC outside of Adobe (which I won’t use) for Prores. Do you transcode the AVFX things that you use in Fusion? If so, what format? If you have a reference you’ve created that I’ve missed, I’d love to see it!

Thanks for your time!

2 Likes

That’s a good question. I am not an expert on this, so do some additional research, but as far as I know Fusion Studio can encode (some forms of) ProRes while Resolve Studion can’t. This probably has something to do with legacy licensing from when Fusion wasn’t yet owned by BMD.

Also FFMPEG does some sort of semi-prores encoding but I think that’s a semi-legal hack.

The good thing is that for working with the AVFX footage that doesn’t make a difference because - again as far as I know - both Resolve and Fusion can DEcode ProRes withou issue, so you only have to decide on a different delivery format, but transcoding the AVFX footage is usually not necessary.

1 Like