What do you use for VFX hardware?

Greetings!

My background is mixed between business, IT, and traditional fine arts; I’ve never worked in a VFX studio. I’ve been interested in VFX for a long time and I’m noodling it in my free time.

I built myself a computer to do this, but I have no idea how it compares to what ‘grown-ups’ use in the real world. I only had about a $1000, so obviously there were compromises. I had a couple drives, so it kept the cost down a little.

So I ended up with:

Dell Precision T5610
Dual Xeon 2687w v2’s, 16c/32t, 3.4Ghz
64GB ram
1TB SSD, 4TB HDD, 512GB NVME swap drive
RTX 2070 8GB

Just starting out, I’m not really making it work very hard yet. But I’m wondering if it’s good enough to get me through to pro level projects, or if I need to start my replacement fund now :smiley:

It’s a hard enough curve to run up, without beating my head against the desk because I’m trying to build a bonfire with a toothpick.

Thanks for your time!

Christopher

4 Likes

Seems pretty good! Should do for a VFX beginner!

This definitely seems quite solid but it really all depends on what projects you are doing. I personally would do what you can with your current setup and just see if your projects become too intense for it. And then, upgrading would be a good idea because a computer hardly capable of running your project can drastically lower your productivity.
Hope this helps!:v:

2 Likes

Hey thanks, good advice!

I guess I was also phishing for actual specs people use in pro studios. AVFX has clients who do work on projects the size of Marvel Studios. Foundry list some of its test systems, these would run about 10-16k off the shelf. But I have no way to gauge if these are high end, common, or the hand me down system that are given to the intern for the Reception position? :smiley:

I been looking online, but all I’m finding are companies that want to sell me expensive gear. It still doesn’t tell me if it’s overkill or below par for the industry?