Introduction / Welcome - 20 year film industry veteran VFX/DoP

Hey everyone. Excited to be here. This reminds me of the old days when I met Rodolphe and many other likeminded and talented filmmaking up-and-comers on a similar forum for VFX stuff back in the early 2000’s.

I am now a professional cinematographer and VFX supervisor. Usually when I shoot a film I do both jobs now (VFX and DoP). You can check out my imdb here to get an idea of what I’ve been up to: Anthony J. Rickert-Epstein - IMDb

Probably the biggest thing anyone on here will recognize is the Star Wars Scene 38 short that I shot. FXITINPOST did the VFX on that one and even when I was shooting it I was like bro you’re gonna have a BUNCH of work to do when you sit down at the computer for this. He was a beast tho, did it all mostly himself. It was an insane shoot and we got it all done in one 20-something hour sitting.

I have been making movies since I was like 8 years old, I’m 37 now, and while I am not the best in the game, I have worked on a lot of fun projects and I taught myself everything I know so I’m pretty happy with my trajectory so far. Anything else I don’t know I try to constantly learn from others and/or teach myself more.

I am now a local 600 union member as a cinematographer so I’m hoping the years to come bring new and amazing ventures. I haven’t done a new reel in a while but here’s my latest cinematography reel:

I’m going to make a new VFX reel soon and I’ll post it on here then.

For now, catch me lurking around on these forums and responding whenever I feel I may be of assistance/relevance. if anyone has any questions ever I’m happy to help. Remember though, there’s a million ways to skin a cat in VFX land. We all have our different quirky ways of getting from point A to point B. Good luck and welcome to the Action VFX Forums!

7 Likes

I am honored to have you on here, man! Who would’ve thought you and I would still be interacting on forums over a decade later?